

The University of Miami The Department of Philosophy and College of Arts and Sciences present The First Annual Graduate Student Conference in Epistemology

Conference Organizers Jeremy Morris Shane Oakley Conference Committee David Anderson Christopher Weaver Osvil Acosta-Morales Jonathan Quianzon Nenad Popovic Submission Board Michael McCracken Sheron Fraser-Burgess Shane Oakley Jeremy Morris

	Schedule of Events
January 7 th , 2004	
7:00 PM:	Reception: University of Miami Philosophy Department Library; Followed by Dinner (Location TBA)
January 8 th , 2004	Location: Allen Hall, Room 101 School of Continuing Studies 5050 Brunson Drive
10:00 - 11:00 AM :	Keynote Address: "Reasonable Disagreements" Richard Feldman, Rochester University
11:00 - 11:30 AM:	Intermission
11:30 - 12:30 PM :	"A Friendly Amendment to the Standard Analysis of Supposition" Eric Swanson, MIT
	Commentary: Osvil Acosta-Morales (University of Miami)
1:00 - 2:00 PM:	Lunch
2:00 - 3:00 PM:	"A Solution to the Gettier Problem" Keota Fields, CUNY Graduate Center
	Commentary: Nenad Popovic (University of Miami)

3:00 - 3:30 PM:	Intermission
3:30 - 4:30 PM :	"Contextualism and Semantic Ascent" Dr. Michael Veber, East Carolina University
	Commentary: Mike McCracken (University of Miami)
	Dinner: Time and Location TBA
January 9 th , 2004	Location: Allen Hall, Room 101 School of Continuing Studies 5050 Brunson Drive
10:00 - 11:00 AM:	"Inferring Epistemic Norms form Facts: How Abstraction and Idealization Might Bridge the Gap" Dr. Michael Shaffer, University of North Carolina at Wilmington
	Commentary: A.J. Kreider (University of Miami)
11:30 - 12:30PM :	"A Makeover of the Pure Causal Theory of Knowledge" Roald Nashi, Cornell University
	Commentary: David Anderson (University of Miami)
1:00 - 2:00 PM:	Lunch
2:00 - 3:00 PM:	"Externalism and Conditional Reasons" Stephen Grimm, University of Notre Dame
	Commentary: Shane Oakley (University of Miami)

We extend our thanks to Faculty Members: Dr. Siegel, Dr. Hilpinen, Dr. Erwin along with the department Office Staff: Alexander Puente and Tyrone Valdivia for their support and assistance in the development of this event. We would also like to thank The Philosophy Department, the College of Arts and Sciences Dean's Office, and the Friends of Philosophy.